Supported Living

Mourne Grange is a supported living service for adults with learning disabilities. There are places for 50 tenancies and you need to be aged 18+. There is no upper age limit for living in the community.

How Do I Apply?

You and your family are welcome to come and visit, even if you are not sure about supported living as an option, you can still come and see us and learn about what we have to offer in Mourne Grange.

If you want to move on to the next stage and consider a tenancy with us then you need to make contact with your local Health and Social Care Trust, if you are already known to the local Community Learning Disability Team then you need to ask for an assessment for a supported living placement. If not known to the team then you can ask to be allocated a Case Manager or Social Worker and they will support you through the process. If you are not sure about who to contact, get in touch with us and we can point you in the right direction.

You will also need to apply to the Housing Executive for a tenancy.

You and your family will be supported through the process and this will involve conversations and meetings to confirm that Mourne Grange is the right place for you. We will then agree a plan for more introductory visits and learn about what you like to do and what you need support with.

How much does it cost?

You will receive housing benefit that will cover the cost of your rent. In addition to this the Housing Executive provide what is called a Supporting People payment to cover some of your support needs.

If your Health and Social Care Trust agrees to the placement then Mourne Grange receives a payment from the Trust to cover some of your care and support needs.

As with anyone who moves in to their own tenancy you will use some of your benefits income to pay for your food, transport and utility bills. There are also small charges for community activities and day opportunities.

All of these costs can be easily managed within your budget and most of our residents have a healthy disposable income to help with saving for holidays and other interests.

How will I be supported?

You will live in a house and you will have your own room. You will live with other people with learning disabilities, no more than 6 people live in each house. There will a family who live in the house with you and provide the support you need with personal care and daily living. There are volunteer co-workers who also stay in the house and we also employ support workers. You will be encouraged to be as independent as possible and to contribute to home life.

You will also have the opportunity to engage in the work, social, cultural and therapies on offer in Mourne Grange. Your activities will be based on your interests and what you like to do.

Can my family visit?

Your family can visit whenever they want to and you can also go and visit and stay with your family. These plans are agreed with you and your family and arranged to suit what everyone can contribute to the arrangements. If you don’t have any family we also arrange for holidays for you and we will support you.

Can I bring my own belongings?

You can bring anything that you own that you would like to have in your room, for example furniture and pictures. If you don’t have any furniture we can also help you and provide some of this for you. You will be supported to make your room personal to you and a space where you like to spend time.

Comments from two of our residents...

John Mitchel

Hello, my name is John and I have lived in Mourne Grange since August 1991. I live in Nicodemus with my house coordinators, Carmel and Heiko. They are very good at helping me and I love my own room. I enjoy being able to go to Kilkeel every Saturday. My work is very important to me and enjoy making things in the wood workshop that can be sold in the Mourne Grange craft shop.

Aimee Donnelly

Hi, my name is Aimee and I moved to live in Mourne Grange two years ago. I am 21 years old and I liked the idea of having my own house but being able to live with people who can look after me. There are lots of things to do and I have made a lot of new friends. I am enjoying learning how to weave and grow plants in the garden. I am able to visit with my family at the weekends and they also come to see me and we go out for lunch.